#Inktober 10–Pattern

Hello, friends! It’s been a few days since I posted, as I have been quite busy and barely even had the time to actually write for Inktober, but I am here to play catch up and share what all I’ve written! I’ve decided not to share my piece from day 9, as it holds very hefty spoilers for one of my stories. I hope you enjoy this short piece, though, as it’s from another one of my stories, currently called “Lost in Time”

***

Ellie stared at the fabric in front of her. A needle sat uncomfortably between her left thumb and forefinger, just waiting to be used. Miss Morrigan had explained the pattern to her a few times, but Ellie just wasn’t interested. Sunlight shone through the windows, hinting at the beautiful day outside. She wanted to be in the garden, running around, picking flowers, maybe climbing a tree or two. Azikel had told her to listen to Miss Morrigan, though, so that’s what she did.

“Stop pouting little one, it’s just a bit of stitching. Every little lady does it.” Miss Morrigan’s hands were already busy, her needlework flawless. Ellie wasn’t sure she’d be able to recreate the pattern.

“But Miss Morrigan,” Ellie tried to keep the whine from her voice, “it’s so nice out, I’d like to go play.”

“Finish your stitching and you can.”

“Will Azikel be able to play too, then?” She still hadn’t started stitching.

“If you finish, I’ll make sure that he makes time for you, okay?”

“Okay!” Ellie looked at the needle one last time before beginning to stitch, trying her best to do it exactly as Miss Morrigan had shown her. It was hard and messy, but if doing it meant that she would get to play with Azikel, then it was worth it.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started